Unhooking

Need help getting upwind or nailing that powered back mobe? Ask your 'how to' questions here.
mike s
Antispam: No

Hi guys, was looking for a bit of advise on unhooking, mainly how much does the kite need trimmed?
I fly North Vegas's off a 2012 bar, i normally ride on the 2nd knot up from the bottom on the steering lines.
I have tried trimming the all the way, but the kite has very little power when i unhook. i have tried pulling an inch at a time on the trim with various out comes from having the bar ripped out of my hands, being pulled off my edge and downwind and back to not enough power to do anything!
I have the Progression advanced DVD, it says to set the kite up with equal tension in the front and back lines, how do i know when the line tension is the same?
All advise will be gratefully received!

Cheers,
Mike
Dragnfly

I'm not an expert, but I'd say trim it so you can ride comfortably hooked in with the bar pulled all the way in, and enough to make sure the kite doesn't stall when the bar is pulled all the way in.
waverider

mike s wrote: I have the Progression advanced DVD, it says to set the kite up with equal tension in the front and back lines, how do i know when the line tension is the same?
When the bar is pulled up to the chicken loop the front lines and rear lines are equal, you then adjust the trim for how much power you can cope with. Riding unhooked means either hanging on or releasing to suicide, sounds as if you may not be ready if you can't figure this out for yourself. It's bloody dangerous to you and to others around you when you are rigged for suicide so keep clear.
kingofthewind

Put your Vegas into new school setting. This will help for unhooked tricks.
vaineh

just because you're riding unhooked doesn't mean you have to have a suicide setup. let go of the bar and let it flag onto the fifth and then just recover as you would if you'd released.
fdvj