Places to kitesurf GTY area

Berwick-upon-Tweed to Southend ~ Local info and chat.
fishbone
Antispam: No

Hey all

Mrs fish has got a new job in Great Yarmouth and we're relocating soon so I'm looking for new places to kitesurf around the GTY area. Plus where we choose to live will be a bit biased to where the spots are! I'm only a beginner having only learnt last year so I'm looking for a spot where I can improve (fall in a lot) and not get into trouble as well as staying out of everyone elses way. I don't mind travelling to a good location but would prefer to be close to a good spot.

I've only been to GTY a couple of times and never to the beach but I can see from tinternet that there's a big following up there. Any information on beaches, wind directions, rules, parking restrictions etc. for good spots would be greatly appreciated! Plus how popular beaches are coz I don't really want to go out on my own.

Cheers
Cris
thetrash

Dont go out at Gt Yarmouth the tide runs fast and the water quality is shite. Gorleston is ok just to the south but further round to the north there are plenty of beaches that work
likestokite

There's loads of places to go, me and a mate took it up couple of years ago. We live just outside Norwich which is good as it gives you access to the wash round to the east coast; max 1hr 15mins drive. Here's a few locations and a bit of info:

Heacham - free parking on road, flatish water, best around high tide, long walk and muddy at low
New Hunstanton - pay and display parking near sailing club, flat water, can get busy, low tide spot
Old Hunstanton - A couple of car parks where you have to pay, set up to the South of the path from the lifeboat station, flat water at low tide, a bit of chop at high water, good location for beginners as plenty of kitesurfers around and lifeboat on your doorstep!! (but try not to use them)